Reccomend me a coil for my old Minelab SD2000...

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Reccomend me a coil for my old Minelab SD2000...

Post  Guest on Mon Jan 06, 2014 1:52 am

So, I got an old Minelab SD2000 for free (virtually unused) and it works fine, and also I am a total newbie to prospecting.

I currently have the Minelab 11 inch DD? and the big 18 inch Dustbin lid fiberglass green mono coil. The mono coil is crazy loud all the time and seems hard to use, while the 11 inch doesn't seem to get deep enough. I'd rather look for bigger nuggets as deep as possible when prospecting.

I don't know too much about coils, so a couple of questions:

1. Does the SD2000 make use of DD coils? Someone told me that the new detectors need to be set to DD mode. Obviously my machine doesn't have that function. I have a feeling the standard 11 inch coil is DD?

2. Can anyone recommend a coil that will give decent depth without being ridiculously massive and unwieldy in the bush (maybe 14 inch?).

3. Are Anti-Inteference coils the same as DD?

Cheers in advance.

Back to top Go down

Re: Reccomend me a coil for my old Minelab SD2000...

Post  CostasDee on Mon Jan 06, 2014 7:03 am

Hi Alastair78 and welcome to the forum.