WARNING TO ALL PROSPECTORS!!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

WARNING TO ALL PROSPECTORS!!

Post  silwane on Sat Jan 07, 2017 6:33 pm

Hi All,

I don"t really get on the forum much, but thought i'd better share this incident with everyone on here.
As all bush dwellers, we all at some point leave our cars in the bush unattended, or are getting around on our own whilst prospecting.
I had my mates wife have some dramas Wednesday out Enfield way when driving down Misery creek road area near the Chinese camp.
They are locals from Dereel and have just got into the detecting game. The woman thought it ok to go for a drive looking around the bush to familiarise herself with old workings and their locations while the husband was busy in town.
Being total novices, they really are starting from scratch with little knowledge of the bush or what to look for. So i have tried to put them on the right track and told them of a few places out Linton way. So they quite often have been cutting back through this area going back to Dereel.
When driving along the road on that afternoon, she came upon two parked cars and a few guys on the side of the track. She thought someone had possibly broken down or something, and just started to pull up toward the vehicles. When the guys then returned to their gold colour Volvo.
One gentleman then proceeded to get her attention and asked where North Ballarat was. Before returning to the car and driving off ahead of her.
Once up the track a hundred meters or so, the car stopped and with hazards on the same guy then got out the car and started to walk back toward her car as she wasn't far behind them.