Road trip to Victoria

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Road trip to Victoria

Post  ninjamoves on Mon Apr 17, 2017 10:54 am

Hi..I'm a newbie from Qld with a couple of months free soon and am visiting Melbourne to see my sister and plan to spend a few weeks in the Golden Triangle on the way back. I've a deposit on a Gold Monster 1000 which will be my 1st detector & I'll have it to get to know & use whilst there. I'll also have a backpack sluice and pan for a change up when in the right location.
My problem is I'll be on two feet with my pack having to walk in to any locations I stay in. I'm ex-Army so staying bush for few days at a time is the plan with just the basics.  Could anyone advise some suitable locations in the Triangle where I can start my journey with access to good ground? or even concentrate my stay to maximise my efforts since I don't have the option of a vehicle. This will be my 1st time to this area of Victoria.  Any feedback will be appreciated.

regards
ShaunO

Last edited by ninjamoves on Mon Apr 17, 2017 10:58 am; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : typo)

ninjamoves

Number of posts : 1
Registration date : 2017-04-16

Back to top Go down

Re: Road trip to Victoria

Post  davsgold on Mon Apr 17, 2017 11:39 am

G'day ShaunO and welcome to the forum

Man your going to do it the hard way that's for sure, not having a vehicle.

Anyhow most of the towns in the golden triangle of VIC are built right on where the gold was found in the old days, so my suggestion is get some of the John Tully maps each one has several areas and towns with the gold leads marked on the pages, these are available from detector shops in VIC like Coiltek in Maryborough VIC, which is also right on the gold, you could easily walk just out of town and be in amongst the old diggings.